Connect with us

Bass CDs

The Ugly Club To Release Debut LP featuring Bassist Rick Sue-Poi

The Ugly Club To Release Debut LP featuring Bassist Rick Sue-Poi… New Jersey’s psychedelic indie-rock quintet, The Ugly Club, will be releasing their debut full-length album, You Belong To The Minutes, on July 13th. With the release of their debut album, You Belong To The Minutes”, The Ugly Club is vocally ambitious and teeming with intelligent arrangements not unlike the most progressive artists of our time.  Reaching psychedelic highs comparable to My Morning Jacket and Radiohead, the delicate inclusion of jazz, indie-rock, and Prince-eqsue neo-funk sends listeners into an unanticipated daydream. Add in mesmerizing vocals reminiscent of The Strokes and this is without a doubt a highly anticipated album for Summer 2012. Check out the making of You Belong To The Minutes:

Fearlessly honest and unwaveringly persistent, The Ugly Club, has been operating for nearly two years with such a force that the band has become impossible to ignore. Formed in 2009, The Ugly Club consists of Ryan Egan (vocals/guitar), Joseph Stasio(vocals/guitar), Taylor Mandel (keyboard/piano/trumpet/melodica), Rick Sue-Poi (bass) and Ryan McNulty (percussion).  Following the success of their debut EP, Visions of Tall Girl, The Ugly Club’s fans have been hungry for more of their unique, infectious sound. Even hungrier to deliver, The Ugly Club began a Kickstarter campaign to help fund a full-length album. The band’s devotion to their fans and vice versa became evident when the campaign raised more than double its goal, making the release of You Belong To The Minutes a celebration for the band and fans alike.

Since the humble beginnings of The Ugly Club in various small towns throughout central New Jersey, the band has had high aspirations and an unfaltering vision of their career path.  Two self-released/produced EPs deep, the band has independently toured the east coast playing notable venues and festivals like SXSW in Austin, TX and has received praise from publications like The Music Slut, Absolutepunk.netForbes.comThe Deli Magzine & countless others.  “If White Arrows were the hardest working ‘official’ SXSW band, The Ugly Club was the hardest working ‘unofficial’ band,” says Mike Henneberger of Stages &, regarding the bands’ tireless efforts busking, promoting and playing gigs during music week.  With the help of both DIY marketing and free-download distribution, the bands’ previous release, Visions of Tall Girl EP has surpassed 100k downloads worldwide.

About the LP, Egan tells us, “Having the opportunity to show people this record is definitely the most monumental point in our career. This is the first time that we have an art piece that truly represents the band and will set the precedent for the future of our sound.”

The Ugly Club will release You Belong To The Minutes on July 13thFor more information, keep up with the band on their networks:

Instagram: @TheUglyClub

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in Bass CDs



To Top