Connect with us

Contrabass Conversations Special Edition: 100 Episodes


Contrabass Conversations Special Edition: 100 Episodes

Meet Jason Heath

We’ve finally reached 100 episodes of Contrabass Conversations! In this special episode, we hear how many of our guests from our first two years of podcasting began playing the bass.

You can listen to this episode by clicking the link below (right-click
or control-click and choose ‘save as…’ to download it to your


…or subscribe to the podcast (free!) by clicking here.

In this issue of Bass Musician magazine, you’ll be hearing excerpts
from the following guests. Complete episodes featuring all of these
guests (and many more!) can be found at the Contrabass Conversations
website, along with complete biographies and links to guest websites:

1. Andy Anderson – Lyric Opera of Chicago

2. Phillip Serna – teacher and early music specialist

3. John Grillo – former New World Symphony, co-host of CBC

4. Bjorn Berkhout – composer

5. Kate Nettleman – principal bass of Hong Kong Philharmonic, newest member of Minnesota Orchestra

6. Weldon Anderson – freelance bassist and composer

7. Ira Gold – National Symphony

8. Francois Rabbath – soloist

9. Greg Sarchet – Lyric Opera of Chicago

10. Lawrence Hurst – Indiana University bass professor

11. Eric Hochberg – jazz bassist

12. Michael Hovnanian – Chicago Symphony

13. Rob Kassinger – Chicago Symphony

14. Jeff Turner – Pittsburgh Symphony

15. Ranaan Meyer – Time for Three

16. Guy Tuneh – soloist and chamber musician

17. Peter Tambroni – teacher and author

18. Colin Corner – former member Minnesota Orchestra

19. Brad Opland – Chicago Symphony

20. Scott Rosenthal – Theater/Broadway musician

21. Donovan Stokes – soloist and professor

22. Virginia Dixon – Suzuki bass

23. Peter Seymour – Project bassist, former New World Symphony and Cleveland Orchestra

24. Steve Reinfranck – luthier and teacher

25. Owen Lee – Cincinnati Symphony

26. Steve Rodby – Pat Metheney bassist

27. Lynn Seaton – jazz bassist, UNT jazz bass professor

28. Anthony Stoops – soloist and professor

29. Chris Threlkeld-Weigand – luthier

30. Barrie Kolstein – luthier

31. Dave Anderson – Louisiana Philharmonic, composer

32. Kristin Korb – jazz bassist and vocalist

33. Barry Lieberman – University of Washington, former L.A. Philharmonic

More in Latest




To Top