Connect with us

Bass CDs

Jaco, Original Soundtrack – Review

Jaco, Original Soundtrack - Review

Jaco, Original Soundtrack – Review

Jaco Pastorius was one of the most important pioneers of the electric bass.

It is fitting that Robert Trujillo and Jaco’s eldest son, John Pastorius IV produce a documentary film chronicling the life, music and the continuing influence this icon of bass has had on the music universe.

This “must see” film is currently available for purchase on DVD/Blu Ray as of November 27, 2015.

Now, a film about such an amazing musician must have a killer soundtrack and what better than a collection of Jaco’s most recognizable songs as he performed them, and as they have been currently interpreted.

Here is the Playlist:

  1. Come On, Come Over – Jaco Pastorius
  2. Continuum – Jaco Pastorius
  3. River People – Weather Report
  4. Teen Town – Weather Report
  5. Portrait of Tracy – Jaco Pastorius
  6. The Dry Cleaner From Des Moines (Live Version) – Joni Mitchell
  7. Al American Alien Boy – Ian Hunter
  8. Liberty City (with Herbie Hancock) – Jaco Pastorius
  9. Okonkole Y Trompa – Jaco Pastorius
  10. Barbary Coast – Weather Report
  11. Crisis – Jaco Pastorius
  12. Longing – Mary Pastorius
  13. Nineteen Eighty Seven – Crosses
  14. Shine – TechN9ne
  15. Continuum- Rodrigo y Gabriela
  16. Come On, Come Over – Mass Mental (feat Robert Trujillo, Armand Sabal-Lecco, Flea, Whit Crane, Benji Webbe, Stephen Perkins & C-Minus)

I believe that Jaco’s music speaks for itself. You have to think about the time it was made and what was happening in the music scene. Put in this perspective, one must simply be left in awe of how Jaco played. He pushed the envelope and made musical choices no one had even thought of before.The sheer range of his creative reach was extraordinary and clearly demonstrated by the wide variety of musical genres found in this list.

Longing” is a song by Mary, Jaco’s daughter. The melancholy feel of this track expresses a different perspective to the premature loss of Jaco as a father more than a musician. I think we often overlook the diversity of roles that people have in their lives.

Continuum” as performed by Rodrigo y Gabriela takes the familiar bass tune and converts it to a flamenco/classical guitar piece. The transition is seamless and demonstrates the transcending nature of Jaco’s music as it translates to other instruments.

The final track, “Come On, Come Over”  as performed by Mass Mental feels like an updated tribute to one of Jaco’s most iconic songs. It is a solid rendition of a tune that most of us have tried to lift at some point. I can see two possible directions you might take when you hear this one. You might really like it, or you might feel it strays too far from the original. You be the judge!

Whether you are a diehard Jaco Pastorius fan or just  beginning to discover his amazing bass performances, this CD is something you must experience.

Jaco, Original Soundtrack is available at

DVD/Blu Ray available at

More in Bass CDs



To Top