Connect with us

Bass Edu

Create Amazing Basslines and Progressions with Modes

In this issue we are going to cover how to create amazing basslines and progressions with modes.

Modes are a very simple and effective way to implement different tones and progressions into your music. Every major scale is going to have its own modal pattern. 

Each individual note in the major scale will then have its own scale comprised of the notes of that major scale. 

So basically the modes are 8 noted scales comprised of the major scale laid out into 8 different scales.

C Major is a great example because there are no sharps and no flats. 

To kick off the modes we have to start with the root known as the Ionian.

The Ionian takes on the characteristics of the major scale, which makes it very easy to understand. 

Ionian (C Major): C – D – E – F – G – A – B – C

Next up is Dorian which has the 3rd and 7th notes lowered a half step. 

Dorian (D): D – E – F – G – A – B – C – D

Our third scale is Phrygian which has 4 notes lowered a half step (2nd, 3rd, 6th, and 7th steps). 

Phrygian (E): E – F – G – A – B – C – D – E 

Lydian is the fourth mode that has the 4th note raised a half step.

Lydian (F): F – G – A – B – C – D – E – F

Our fifth mode is the Mixolydian which has the 7th note lowered a half step. 

Mixolydian (G): G – A – B – C – D – E – F – G

Aeolian is another easy mode just like Ionian because it is the natural minor scale! The Aeolian has the 3rd, 6th, and 7th steps lowered a half step. 

Aeolian (A): A – B – C – D – E – F – G – A

Our last mode is Locrian. This mode has the 2nd, 3rd, 5th, 6th and 7th notes lowered a half step. 

Locrian (B): B – C – D – E – F – G – A – B

More in Bass Edu



To Top